MY WHOLE LIFE I HAVE ALWAYS CHASED AFTER THE IMPOSSIBLE AND LOVED ONLY THE IMPOSSIBLE. SLAVA POLUNIN
ZARYA CENTER FOR CONTEMPORARY ART

The Zarya Center for Contemporary Art first opened its doors in Vladivostok in 2013, as part of an initiative by entrepreneur and patron, Alexander Mechetin, the founder of Russia’s largest alcoholic beverage company, BELUGA GROUP. Zarya CCA is located within the Zarya creative cluster, in the space of the former sewing factory that gave the site its name.

Zarya CCA sees its mission in presenting the Primorye region with the best of contemporary art and culture from Russia and beyond, while also supporting artists and the local art community.

In its brief history, Zarya CCA has treated residents and guests of Vladivostok to some of the best Russian exhibitions in recent years, including “The Islands of Yuri Sobolev” (2016), Architecture: Doomed to Optimism” (2018), Metageography: Orientalism and Dreams of Robinsons” (2018). Zarya CCA has also originated its own exhibition projects, such as, “Gosha Ostretsov. Autotrans N.G.” (2014); “HER” (2015), curated by Oksana Sarkisian; “Badlands” (2016), curated by Andrei Erofeev; and “Perpetuum Mobile. Russian Kinetic Art” (2017), curated by Polina Borisova. These projects have all been oriented towards fostering the development of the local art scene, while attracting curators, art historians and museum professionals of the highest level to Primorye. Among the lenders and partners in the organization and preparation of Zarya CCA’s exhibitions are some of the largest private and state collections and museums in Russia, including the State Tretyakov Gallery, the Moscow Museum of Modern Art, the Shchusev Museum of Architecture, the State Museum of V.V. Mayakovsky, the Moscow Central State Cinema Museum, and ROSIZO State Museum and Exhibition Center.

Since the second half of 2014, CCA Zarya has operated the only Artist-in-Residence program in the Far East, offering artists from different cities and countries the opportunity to realize projects in Vladivostok, with an eye on the unique regional, cultural and natural context the city has to offer.

Since 2014, Zarya’s Chief Curator has been Alisa Bagdonaite.

Avenue of the 100th Anniversary of Vladivostok, 155, Workshop 2, Entrance 10, 2nd Floor

Vladivostok

DAILY 12:00 pm - 8:00 pm

FREE ADMISSION

Photo from the exhibition “Perpetuum Mobile: Russian Kinetic Art, 2017

НАЧАЛО ВСЕХ ВЕЛИКИХ ДЕЙСТВИЙ И МЫСЛЕЙ НИЧТОЖНО. ВЕЛИКИЕ ДЕЯНИЯ ЧАСТО РОЖДАЮТСЯ НА УЛИЧНОМ ПЕРЕКРЕСТКЕ ИЛИ У ВХОДА В РЕСТОРАН. АЛЬБЕР КАМЮ
ЦЕНТР СОВРЕМЕННОГО ИСКУССТВА «ЗАРЯ»

Центр современного искусства «Заря» открыт во Владивостоке в 2013 году по инициативе российского предпринимателя, мецената, основателя и совладельца крупнейшей российской алкогольной компании BELUGA GROUP Александра Мечетина. ЦСИ располагается на территории творческого кластера «Заря» в помещениях бывшей одноименной швейной фабрики.

Основные задачи «Зари» — это представление в Приморье лучших достижений современной культуры России и мира, поддержка художников и местного художественного сообщества.

За свою недолгую историю «Заря» успела представить жителям и гостям Владивостока одни из лучших российских выставок за последние годы («Острова Юрия Соболева», 2016; «Архитектура. Обреченные на оптимизм» совместно с Московским музеем современного искусства и Государственным музеем архитектуры им. А.В. Щусева, 2018; «Метагеография: ориентализм и мечты робинзонов» совместно с Государственной Третьяковской галереей, 2018). Также «Заря» создаёт собственные выставочные проекты («Георгий Острецов. Автотранс «НП», 2014 год; «ЕЁ», куратор Оксана Саркисян, 2015; «Пустырь и пустошь», куратор Андрей Ерофеев, 2016; «Вечный двигатель. Русское кинетическое искусство», куратор Полина Борисова, 2017), ориентированные на развитие локальной художественной сцены и привлечение к работе в Приморье кураторов, искусствоведов, музейных профессионалов самого высокого уровня. Партнёрами, оказывающими поддержку в организации и подготовке выставок, а также предоставляющими экспонаты, стали крупнейшие частные и государственные коллекции и музеи, в том числе Государственная Третьяковская галерея, Московский музей современного искусства, Государственный музей архитектуры им. А.В. Щусева, Государственный музей В.В. Маяковского, Государственный музей кино, Государственный музейно-выставочный центр РОСИЗО.

Со второй половины 2014 года при ЦСИ «Заря» также работает единственная на Дальнем Востоке программа арт-резиденций, предоставляющая художникам из разных городов и стран возможность реализовать проекты во Владивостоке. В первую очередь резиденция предлагает художникам ориентироваться на региональный культурный и природный контекст.

Главный куратор проекта с 2014 года — Алиса Багдонайте.

ВЛАДИВОСТОК, ПРОСПЕКТ 100-ЛЕТИЯ ВЛАДИВОСТОКА, 155, ЦЕХ 2, ВХОД 10, ЭТАЖ 2

ЕЖЕДНЕВНО 12:00 - 20:00

ВХОД СВОБОДНЫЙ

Фото с выставки «Вечный двигатель. Русское кинетическое искусство», 2017 год.