THE CULTURE CREATE THE BEAUTIFUL THINGS THAT TURN IN UGLY. ARTISTS CREATE HOMELESS THINGS THAT ARE TURNING ON PERFECTLY. COCO CHANEL
LITTLE TRICKS IN THE LITTLE CITY / EXHIBITION BY LYOKHA G.

NOVEMBER 17 – 25, 2018 / ARTIST RESIDENCY STUDIO (CRW, ENTRANCE 5)

Lyokha G. is a Vladivostok-based musician and artist working with found objects, assemblages, lo-fi computer graphics and drawing from life, capturing the idiocy of everyday life. Incidentally, the word “artist” doesn’t quite apply to him. He prefers to call himself either a podelochnik (“craftsman”) or a poddelochnik (a counterfeiter), a play on words that effectively removes him from any possible integration into the dominant system of contemporary art.

Indeed, “crafts” or “fakes” make up one of his most significant series, which consists of assemblages of discarded toys, each accompanied by a caption and brought together into small compositions, suggesting absurd narratives. Lyokha G. also actively works with the “Caesar and Tripod Studio”, regularly publishing updates on his community page in VKontakte. Among the studio’s works one can find simplified and deliberately “bad” graphic design, mocking the markers and clichés pumped through advertising, the widespread adherence to Anglicism, and more generally the excessive pathos surrounding goods, services and “creative labor.”

In his project for the residency, the artist develops on the foundation for this earlier series, only on a much larger scale. The assemblages become full-scale installations, some even interactive, while some unrealized ideas from earlier finally see their material embodiment. “Little Tricks in the Little City” gathers a selection of inventions aimed at improving the life of city-dwellers. For instance, it’s a well-known fact that Vladivostok has a problem with parking in the courtyards of residential houses, and Lyokha G. offers an alternative method of vertical parking. Among other “tricks” include an “all-access” ring capable of opening any door, signs for conversations between motorists, mobile fences for pedestrian crossings and many other paradoxical objects.

It should be noted that the resolutions proposed by the artist are not intended to be put into practice. After all, utility is not the artist’s end goal. Rather, Lyokha G.’s little “tricks” are mischievous responses to the general hopeless unsettledness that accompanies us every day with every step we take. In order to not let this routine get you down, you need to be able to laugh at it, diminishing its power.

The exhibition also includes interventions by visitors to Lyokha G.’s studios, a set of pod(d)elki created over the past month. The artist demonstrates just how accessible contemporary art is to everyone by showing anyone interested how he creates his assemblages. It’s possible that the teachings of Lyokha G.’s may even go “to the people,” but the question as to where it will lead the artist himself remains open.

*For Reference: Lyokha G. (Aleksey Krutkin, born 1983) is a Vladivostok-based artist and musician, who heads up the “Caesar and Tripod Studio” and the “Weirdo Fashion” initiative. He is also known as poet and songwriter “Lyonya Chelushkinsky,” a guitarist and founding member of the band, BIO VIA ai JI, a pioneer in the philosophical movement “bio-idiotism” and the chief artist behind the posters for the Vladivostok club, Contrabanda. In 2017, he was featured in a solo show at Vladivostok’s Arka Gallery. Additionally, he has participated in group exhibitions including “Tragedy in the Corner” (The Museum of Moscow, 2018), “Next to the Gods” (ARTIS Gallery, Moscow, 2017) and “Rebels at the Edge” (MMOMA, 2017, Erarta Museum, 2016, ZARYA CCA, 2015).

To learn more about the artist’s projects, please visit his website: https://biovia.jimdo.com

Я ЧАСТО ЧУВСТВУЮ, ЧТО ЛЮДИ ПРИХОДЯТ КО МНЕ СНИМАТЬСЯ, КАК ПОШЛИ БЫ К ВРАЧУ ИЛИ ГАДАЛКЕ – ЧТОБЫ ВЫЯСНИТЬ, КАКОВЫ ОНИ. РИЧАРД АВЕДОН
МАЛЕНЬКИЕ ХИТРОСТИ В МАЛЕНЬКОМ ГОРОДЕ / ЛЕХА Г.

17-25 НОЯБРЯ 2018 / 19:00 / МАСТЕРСКАЯ АРТ-РЕЗИДЕНЦИИ (ЦРМ, 5 ВХОД)

В мастерской арт-резиденции «Заря» открылась выставка художника Лёхи Г. «Маленькие хитрости в маленьком городе», которая представит итоги его пребывания в арт-резиденции. Выставка продлится до 25 ноября включительно. Для посещения необходимо обратиться на ресепшн ЦСИ «Заря».

Лёха Г. – владивостокский музыкант и художник, работающий с найденными объектами, ассамбляжем, компьютерной графикой «лоу-фай» и зарисовками с натуры, запечатлевающими абсурдность повседневности. Впрочем, слово «художник» не вполне применимо к нему – сам он именует себя «поделочником», или «подделочником», отвергая таким образом саму систему современного искусства, в которую не собирается встраиваться.

Собственно, «поделки», или «подделки» – одна из самых больших его серий, которая представляет собой ассамбляжи из выброшенных игрушек. Сопровождаемые подписями, они складываются в небольшие композиции, повествующие абсурдные истории. Лёха Г. также активно работает над «Студией всего Цезарь и Тренога», регулярно публикуя обновления на странице своего сообщества ВКонтакте. Среди работ студии можно найти упрощенный и намеренно «плохой» графический дизайн, высмеивающий распространенные в рекламе штампы и клише, повсеместную приверженность к англицизмам и вообще излишний пафос, окружающий товары, услуги и «креативный труд».

Наработки предыдущих серий получают новое развитие в проекте для резиденции, однако с большим размахом, становясь полномасштабными инсталляциями, иногда интерактивными, а некоторые из прежних задумок обретают наконец материальное воплощение. «Маленькие хитрости в маленьком городе» – это набор изобретений, призванных облегчить жизнь горожанам. Например, известно, что во Владивостоке есть проблема с парковочными местами во дворах жилых домов, и Лёха Г. предлагает альтернативный способ вертикальной парковки. Среди других «хитростей» – открывающее любые двери кольцо «всеподъездья», таблички для переговоров между автомобилистами, мобильные ограждения для пешеходных переходов и многие другие парадоксальные объекты.

Впрочем, решения, предлагаемые художником, не применимы на практике. Он и не ставит утилитарность своей целью. Скорее, «хитрости» Лёхи Г. – это живая и хулиганская реакция на общую беспросветную необустроенность, сопровождающую нас на каждом шагу, каждый день. И, чтобы от этой обыденности не мутило, можно ее высмеять и выхолостить.

В выставке участвуют и работы гостей мастерской Лёхи Г. – «под(д)елки», которые создавались на протяжении прошедшего месяца. Показывая всем желающим принципы создания своих ассамбляжей, художник демонстрирует на практике, что современное искусство доступно каждому. Возможно, однажды учение Лёхи Г. пойдет «в народ», а вот куда оно заведет его самого – вопрос интересный и пока открытый.

ВХОД СВОБОДНЫЙ

*Лёха Г. (Алексей Круткин, р. 1983) – владивостокский художник и музыкант. Руководитель Студии всего «Цезарь и Тренога», организатор проекта «Фэшн юродивый». Он же поэт-песенник Лёня Челюскинский, рок-гитарист и основатель группы «БИО ВИА ай ЖЫ», пионер философского движения биоидиотизма, а также главный художник афиш клуба «Контрабанда» (Владивосток). Представлял персональную выставку в галерее «Арка» (Владивосток, 2017). Участник групповых выставок, в числе которых «Трагедия в углу» (Музей Москвы, 2018), «Рядом с небожителями» (галерея ARTIS, 2017), «Край бунтарей» (ММСИ, 2017, Музей Эрарта, 2016, ЦСИ «Заря», 2015).

О проектах художника можно узнать больше на его сайте: https://biovia.jimdo.com