PEOPLE SAY GRAFFITI IS UGLY, IRRESPONSIBLE AND CHILDISH… BUT THAT’S ONLY IF IT’S DONE PROPERLY. BANKSY
PAVEL ZYUMKIN. RAZZLE DAZZLE. 2014

PAVEL ZYUMKIN. RAZZLE DAZZLE. 2014

Retaining wall, acrylic paint

"Razzle Dazzle" in English means “turmoil” or “disorder”. In marine affairs, it is used to describe “blinding camouflage”. During World War I, British artist Norman Wilkinson designed such a camouflage pattern for the fleet and aviation forces. The main purpose of this pattern is not to hide an object but to distort its silhouette and make it difficult to determine its position in space.

An artist and designer from Moscow — Pavel Zyumkin — rethinks this camouflage aesthetics and tries to “hide” the parking lot with its daily work cycles while adding interwoven bright contrasting colors to the black and white cubist gamut.

This is the first art object that appeared on the territory of the Zarya Factory. It was created in 2014 for the project The Spaces, which implied a critical reexamination of urban surfaces by the artist. The retaining wall here is not just a panoramic facade, but a functional object, which has overgrown with parking spaces due to the complex landscape of the port city.

ФОТОГРАФИЯ — ЭТО ИНСТРУМЕНТ ДЛЯ ОБРАЩЕНИЯ К ВЕЩАМ, О КОТОРЫХ ВСЕ ЗНАЮТ, НО НЕ УДЕЛЯЮТ ИМ ВНИМАНИЯ. ЦЕЛЬ МОИХ ФОТОГРАФИЙ – ПРЕДСТАВИТЬ ТО, ЧЕГО ВЫ НЕ ВИДИТЕ. ЭММЕТ ГОУИН
ПАВЕЛ ЗЮМКИН. RAZZLE DAZZLE. 2014

ПАВЕЛ ЗЮМКИН. RAZZLE DAZZLE. 2014

Подпорная стена, акриловая краска

Razzle Dazzle переводится с английского как «суматоха», в морском деле — «ослепляющий камуфляж». Во время Первой мировой войны британский художник Норман Уилкинсон разработал такой камуфляж для флота и авиации. Задача такого рисунка — не спрятать объект, а исказить очертания и затруднить определение его положения в пространстве.

Московский художник и дизайнер Павел Зюмкин переосмысляет эту маскировочную эстетику и пытается «скрыть» парковку с её ежедневными рабочими циклами, при этом добавляя переплетающиеся яркие контрастные цвета в черно-белую кубистическую гамму.

Это первый арт-объект на территории фабрики «Заря». Он был создан в 2014 году для проекта «Пространства»/The Spaces, которое подразумевало критическое осмысление городских поверхностей художником. Так, опорная стенка здесь — не просто панорамный фасад, а функциональный объект, обусловленный сложным ландшафтом, обросший парковочным пространством и существующий в портовом городе.