WHAT IF EVERYTHING IS AN ILLUSION AND NOTHING EXISTS? TN THAT CASE, I DEFINITELY OVERPAID FOR MY CARPET. WOODY ALLEN
HISTORY OF THE ZARYA FACTORY

Welcome to the Zarya Factory!

Today it is an office and shopping complex created in the spaces of a former garment sewing factory in 2013. At the Zarya Factory, there are businesses in various areas, including creative ones. In 2013, the Zarya Center for Contemporary Art was opened here as well. Thanks to its activity the Zarya Factory’s territory was filled with street art and turned into an open-air museum.

You can learn more about the history of the Zarya Sewing Association below.

You can learn more about art objects in the territory of the factory by clicking on the link.

Garment sewing production has existed in Vladivostok since about 1901, and the Zarya Factory was formed through continuous mergers and transformations of various industries within it. From 1901 to 1910, tailoring of special orders for the military forces in Vladivostok was carried out by the Siberian division’s semi-crew “Shvalnya”, which was transferred to the administration of Employment Exchange in 1910 and became known as the “team of unemployed”. This way it existed until 1918 and was subsequently renamed many times, first as the semi-crew “Rabshveyprom” (“Workers Sewing Industry”), then as the “Gosshveyfabrika” (“State Sewing Factory”), and as the Pacific Fleet Factory, until it finally became the Sewing Factory No.2 in 1963.

The second major player on the map of Vladivostok's garment sewing production began its history in 1928, when several artisanal manufactures merged into the “Takelazh” (“Rigging”) Artel. In 1940, the “Lyubimaya Igrushka” (“Beloved Toy”) Artel joined it. They continued their joint work under the name of Konstantin Sukhanov’s Artel, which was reorganized into the Sewing Factory No.1 by order of the Ministry of Light Industry in 1956.

In 1958, the Sewing Factory No.1 moved to the territory of the Zarya Factory. At that time, there were three one-story factory buildings. Now, these are the ground floors of buildings No.1, 2 and 3. They were constructed in the early 1900s, and it is known that there was a horse stable in the Building No.2, and there were barracks for military cavalry servicemen in the other two.

The barracks were in bad condition and needed to be repaired and reconstructed for the needs of the factory. All construction work was carried out by the factory’s employees, in spite of the fact that sewing production could not be stopped even for a short moment. When a part of the re-equipment of the premises was completed in 1964, the Sewing Factories No.1 and No.2 merged into one, and the Artyom Sewing Factory joined it. Thus began the nearly half-century history of the Zarya Sewing Association.

Previously, the district around the Zarya Factory used to be called the 12th Kilometer among the people of Vladivostok. The 12th Kilometer at that time was the far outskirts of the city with poorly developed transportation and housing infrastructure. Thanks to the hard work and dedication of the employees, the factory quickly developed and soon became the main district-forming enterprise. By the mid-70s, more than two thousand people were involved in production; they were mostly women. Residential houses and dormitories, kindergartens and medical clinics were built for the Zarya Factory's employees, and soon the district around the factory became known as Zarya among the citizens.

  • Building No.1. The Sewing Department

This is one of the buildings in which military barracks were previously located. The second and third floors were added between 1958 and 1961. Immediately after this, the building was put into operation. On the second floor, there was a sewing shop where women’s dresses, men's suits, and school uniforms were sewed. On the ground floor, a warehouse for the finished goods was located. All the clothes that were produced at the factory were stored here, and from this building, they were spread to retail outlets in the city and the region.

For a long time in this building, there was a workshop for homeworkers — employees who, due to lack of working space, sewed at home. Several times a month, a factory car transported the finished cut to the homeworkers’ apartments, and after a while, the ready clothes were collected and brought to the factory’s warehouse. At the warehouse, employees checked the quality of the goods, sewed brand tags of the Zarya Factory on new suits and dresses, and after that the garments were sent for sale.

  • Building No.2. The Cutting Workshop and the Experimental Department

This building was put into operation in 1961. During the reconstruction, the second floor was added and an elevated passageway was built between buildings No.1 and No.2. On the second floor there was a cutting workshop where, according to the patterns, cuts were prepared for future fashionable dresses and formal men's suits. Then, the finished patterns were sent to the sewing workshop on a monorail system across the passageway, and there the seamstresses made outfits from the cuts.

On the ground floor of building No.2, the experimental department was located, it was the most fashionable and creative department in the entire factory. Its employees were engaged in the development of new models of dresses, suits, and outerwear, which were produced at the factory. Also, the experimental department conducted control of finished garments for compliance with state standards.

About once a month, the factory management and representatives of the trading industry gathered to watch models in this building. Models were selected from among workers. Women and men showed the latest fashionable designs of the experimental department, and after the shows, the commission decided whether they would go into mass production.

  • Building No.3. The Headwear Workshop

From the first day of its work in 1966, building No. 3 was completely dedicated to the production of hats and other headwear. On the third floor of the building, lightweight felt hats, beaver fur hats and other hats for children and adults were sewed according to the designs that were developed in the experimental department. Also, it was the only workshop of the factory that made special orders for the military forces: side caps, peaked caps, and other headgear.

Preparatory work was carried out on the second floor of the building. There, patterns were cut and accessories were made for the further production of hats. Beautiful buttons, straps, and brooches, which were to become an adornment of new models of hats, were designed here and made by hand.

On the ground floor, there was a workroom for the production of blanks for the hats manufacture and a warehouse that stored hats that were ready for sale.

  • Building No.4

This building was commissioned in 1995, it was the most productive period in the factory’s history. Production increased and flourished, the Zarya Factory began to work with Vietnam and China.

On the ground floor of the building, there was a garage for the factory’s cars that transported finished goods to shops in the city. At that time in Vladivostok, there were already 3 brand stores of the Zarya Factory, which were located in different areas of the city: Vtoraya Rechka, Egersheld, and Gaydamak.

On the second and third floors of the building, preparatory and cutting workshops were located, in which patterns and cuts were prepared and then delivered to the sewing workshop.

  • Building No.5. The Fabric Warehouse

Building No.5 began its work in 1985. There has always been a fabric acceptance and inspection department. On the ground floor, the team working in the department measured the rolls of fabric on the huge measuring tables and checked its compliance with the quality and footage declared by the suppliers.

On the second floor, there was a warehouse where the fabric was stored on huge shelves. Fashionable skirts or strict trousers under the Zarya brand’s name were to be sewn from this very fabric.

The system of transitions between buildings No.1, No.2, and No.5 made it possible to mechanize as much labor as possible. By the monorail system, the fabric from the warehouse was delivered to the cutting workshop. The finished cut was sent along a different direction to the sewing workshop, where the production process ended. The finished products were delivered to the warehouse for ready-for-sale garments, and then to the city’s shops.

  • Central Repair Department’s Building

The teams that were responsible for the functioning of all equipment in the factory were based in this building — brigades of machinists, locksmiths, carpenters, and a rapid response team. They were engaged in the adjustment and repair of sewing equipment, and sometimes they also made furniture, invented or adapted the existing equipment to the needs and demands of the factory that included the constant updating of the assortment due to the introduction of new models and designs of clothes that were developed by the experimental department.

In the mid-60s, while studying at the Far Eastern Academy of Arts, Alexander Mikhailov, the people’s artist of the Russian Federation, worked here as an electrician in the team of the central repair department. When returning to Vladivostok for an artistic tour, he visited the factory staff and spoke to former colleagues and friends.

  • Administrative Building / Business Workshop

The construction of the administrative building was launched in 1959, and 2 years later it was put into operation. On the ground floor, the factory’s administration board was located, and on the second floor, a dormitory for employees was temporarily arranged.

After several houses were built specifically for the factory workers, an amateur creative activity club was organized on the second floor of the building. It organized the leisure of employees — joint trips to nature, concerts, and performances. The participation of the "Zarya" dance and vocal group in Vladivostok city’s events and sports competitions was an important part of the life of the factory staff.

The material was compiled on the basis of the factory’s archive and historical information gathered in 1975 by Alexandra Rozinkova, the director of the Zarya Factory archive.

Я ВСЕ ВРЕМЯ МЫСЛЕННО ФОТОГРАФИРУЮ ОКРУЖАЮЩЕЕ – ДЛЯ ТРЕНИРОВКИ. МАЙНОР УАЙТ
ИСТОРИЯ ФАБРИКИ «ЗАРЯ»

Добро пожаловать на Фабрику «Заря»!

Сейчас это офисно-торговый комплекс, созданный в 2013 году в пространствах швейной фабрики. На «Заре» работают бизнесы разных направлений, в том числе креативные. Здесь же в 2013 году открылся Центр современного искусства «Заря», благодаря работе которого территория Фабрики наполнилась произведениями уличного искусства и превратилась в «Музей под открытым небом».

Больше информации об истории швейного объединения «Заря» вы можете прочесть ниже.

Узнать подробнее об арт-объектах на территории вы сможете, пройдя по ссылке.

Швейное производство, из которого путем постоянных слияний и преобразований различных производств сформировалась фабрика «Заря», существовало во Владивостоке примерно с 1901 года. В период с 1901 по 1910 год пошивом спецзаказа для военных во Владивостоке занимался сибирский полуэкипаж «Швальня», который с 1910 года был переведен в ведение биржи труда и стал называться «коллектив безработных». В такой форме он просуществовал до 1918 года, но в дальнейшем был множество раз переименован, сначала в полуэкипаж «Рабшвейпром», далее в «Госшвейфабрику», «Фабрику ТОФ», пока в 1963 году не стал именоваться Швейная фабрика № 2.

Второй игрок на карте швейного производства Владивостока начал свою историю в 1928 году, когда несколько кустарных производств объединились в артель «Такелаж», а в 1940 году к ней примкнула артель «Любимая игрушка». Совместную работу они продолжили под названием «артель имени Константина Суханова», которая приказом министерства легкой промышленности в 1956 году была реорганизована в Швейную фабрику № 1.

На территорию «Зари», или, как ранее назывался этот район города, «12-й километр», швейная фабрика №1 переехала в 1958 году. В то время здесь находились три одноэтажных здания — сейчас это первые этажи цехов № 1, 2 и 3. Они были построены в начале 1900-х годов. Известно, что во 2-м цеху была конюшня, а в двух других — казармы для военнослужащих военной конницы.

Предоставленные казармы нуждались в ремонте и адаптации под нужды фабрики. Все строительные работы были выполнены силами сотрудников, при условии, что швейное производство останавливать было нельзя. Когда часть работ по переоборудованию помещений была завершена в 1964 году, произошло слияние Швейных фабрик №1 и 2, а также Артемовской швейной фабрики. Так началась почти полувековая история производственного швейного объединения «Заря».

«12-й километр» в то время был далекой окраиной города с плохо развитой транспортной и жилищной инфраструктурой. Благодаря труду, упорству и преданности людей фабрика быстро развивалась и вскоре стала основным районообразующим предприятием. Уже к середине 70-х на производстве было задействовано больше двух тысяч человек; в основном это были женщины. Для сотрудников Зари строились жилые дома и общежития, детские сады и поликлиники, а вскоре и район сформировавшийся вокруг фабрики стал именоваться «Заря».

  • Корпус № 1. Пошивочный цех

Один из корпусов, в котором ранее располагались военные казармы. Второй и третий этаж были надстроены в период с 1958 по 1961 год. Сразу после этого корпус был сдан в эксплуатацию. На втором этаже располагался пошивочный цех, где шили женские платья, мужские костюмы, школьную форму . На первом этаже располагался склад готовой продукции: здесь хранили всю одежду, которая производилась на фабрике. Отсюда же она распространялась по торговым точкам города и края.

В этом же здании долгое время находился цех надомников — сотрудников, которые из-за недостатка рабочих площадей шили на дому. Несколько раз в месяц фабричный автомобиль развозил готовый крой рабочим на дом, после чего собирал готовую одежду и привозил на склад. На складе сотрудники проверяли качество товара, пришивали на новенькие костюмы и платья фирменные бирки фабрики «Заря», после чего товар отправлялся на продажу.

  • Корпус № 2. Раскройный и экспериментальный цех

Это здание было сдано в эксплуатацию в 1961 году. В ходе ремонта был надстроен второй этаж и построен надземный переход между цехами № 1 и № 2. На втором этаже располагался раскройный цех, где по лекалам готовился крой для будущих модных платьев и строгих мужских костюмов. Затем по переходу с помощью системы монорельса готовые выкройки отправлялись в пошивочный цех, где швеи делали из них готовые наряды.

На первом этаже второго корпуса располагался экспериментальный цех — самый модный и креативный отдел на всей фабрике. Именно здесь занимались разработкой моделей платьев, костюмов и верхней одежды, которая производилась на фабрике. Также экспериментальный цех вел контроль готовой продукции на соответствие государственным стандартам.

Примерно раз в месяц руководство фабрики и представители торговой отрасли собирались на смотр моделей в экспериментальном цехе. Моделей выбирали из числа работников. Женщины и мужчины демонстрировали последние модные разработки экспериментального цеха, а после показов комиссия решала, что пойдет в массовое производство.

  • Корпус № 3. Шляпный цех / Цех головных уборов

С первого дня своей работы в 1966 году цех № 3 всецело принадлежал производству шляпок. На третьем этаже корпуса по моделям, которые разрабатывались в экспериментальном цеху, шили легкие шляпки из фетра, бобровые шапки и другие головные уборы для детей и взрослых. Также это был единственный цех на фабрике, где шло производство спецзаказа для военных: здесь изготавливали фуражки, пилотки и другие головные уборы для военных сил города и края.

На втором этаже здания велась подготовительная работа: здесь кроили лекала и изготовляли фурнитуру для производства шляпок. Красивые пуговицы, ремешки и брошки, которые потом должны были стать украшением новых моделей шляпок, придумывались, а потом делались вручную.

На первом этаже находилась мастерская по производству болванок для изготовления головных уборов и склад, где хранились уже готовые к продаже головные уборы.

  • Корпус № 4

Здание было открыто в 1995 году, в самое продуктивное время в работе фабрики. Производство увеличивалось и процветало, предприятие стало работать с Вьетнамом и Китаем.

На первом этаже здания находился гараж. Фабричные машины развозили по магазинам города готовую продукцию. В это время в городе уже было три фирменных магазина фабрики «Заря», которые располагались в разных районах города: Вторая речка, Эгершельд, Гайдамак.

На втором и третьем этажах корпуса располагались подготовительные и раскройные цеха, в которых готовили лекала и крой, который потом поставляли в швейные цеха.

  • Корпус № 5. Склад тканей

Цех № 5 начал свою работу в 1985 году. В этом здании всегда располагался цех приемки и проверки ткани. На первом этаже велась приемка ткани — на огромных промерочных столах бригада, работавшая в цеху, промеряла рулоны ткани, поступающие на фабрику, проверяла их соответствие качеству и метражу, заявленному поставщиками.

На втором этаже располагался склад тканей, где на огромных стеллажах хранился материал, из которого должна была быть сшита очередная модная юбка или строгие брюки под маркой «Заря».

Система переходов между цехами № 1, 2 и 5 позволяла максимально механизировать тяжелый труд. По системе монорельса ткань со склада попадала в раскройный цех. Готовый крой уже по другому переходу отправлялся в пошивочный цех, где и заканчивался процесс производства. Уже готовое изделие поступало на склад, а затем — в магазины города.

  • Цех ЦРМ (центральная ремонтная мастерская)

В этом корпусе всегда располагались слесарная, токарная и столярная бригады фабрики или группы оперативного реагирования — команды, которые отвечали за исправность всей техники на фабрике. Бригады специалистов, которые работали в цехах, занимались настройкой и ремонтом швейного оборудования. Также они порой изготовляли мебель, придумывали или адаптировали имеющийся парк техники к нуждам и запросам фабричного производства — в том числе к постоянному обновлению ассортимента из-за ввода новых моделей и конструкций одежды, которые разрабатывались экспериментальных цехом.

В середине 60-х, во время учебы в Дальневосточной академии искусств, электриком в бригаде ЦРМ работал народный артист России Александр Михайлов. Впоследствии, возвращаясь во Владивосток на гастроли, он навещал коллектив фабрики и выступал перед бывшими коллегами и друзьями.

  • Административный корпус / Бизнес-цех

Строительство административного корпуса было начато в 1959 году; через 2 года он был запущен в работу. На первом этаже находилось правление фабрики, на втором временно было обустроено общежитие для сотрудников.

После того, как в эксплуатацию сдали несколько домов, построенных специально для работников фабрики, на втором этаже расположился клуб творческой самодеятельности, который занимался организацией досуга сотрудников. Совместные выезды на природу, концерты творческой самодеятельности, участие танцевальной и вокальной группы «Зари» в городских мероприятиях, спортивные соревнования — всё это было важной частью жизни огромного коллектива фабрики.

Материал составлен на основе архива фабрики и исторической справки, написанной в 1975 году заведующей архивом фабрики «Заря» Розинковой Александрой Романовной.

Автор: Журавлёва Мария