OUR HEADS ARE SO ROUND SO OUR THOUGHTS CAN CHANGE DIRECTION. FRANCIS PICABIA
HOST WINTER SCHOOL FOR ARTISTS

From 12 to 18 December 2022, the participants of the Zarya Artist Residency alongside the artists from the Primorsky and Khabarovsk Regions are invited to Winter School for Artists, a week-long intensive course comprising workshops and classes on the history and theory of art, organised by the Vladivostok School of Contemporary Art (VSCA) on Zarya CCA’s premises. The programme includes portfolio review seminars and lectures on the history of art in Primorye, post-colonial discourse in art, features of artistic research, and other subjects.

The lectures will be held online on weekday evenings. On the weekends, the participants are invited to explore the psycho-geographical features of the area around the Zarya Artist Residency during guided walking tours.

    PROGRAMME (VLADIVOSTOK TIME):

  • 12 December, Monday

18:30–20:30 Zoom lecture by Oksana Budulak – Artist Portfolio: How to Write an Artist Statement and What to Include in Your Portfolio

The participants will receive practical advice on how to build and structure a portfolio and how best to showcase their work.

Oksana Budulak is a curator, art historian, art critic and the head of the curatorial practices section of the Ploshchad Mira Museum Center (Krasnoyarsk). Budulak has conceived and developed various communication projects, artist residencies, and parallel programmes of the Krasnoyarsk Museum Biennale, founded and curated two chapters of the Siberian Laboratory for Young Art: Otkrytie Soobshchestva (Opening of the Community; 2016) and From Siberia with Love (2017), curated Museum Nights (2016–2019) and Inaccessible Environment – the parallel programme of the 12th Krasnoyarsk Museum Biennale ‘World and Peace’ (2017). Budulak curated the After Pozdeev: 30 years of Krasnoyarsk Contemporary Art exhibition/research project and the eponymous book (together with Alexandra Sitnikova), as well as independent street art projects: Rehearsal (2013–2015 ), Flag in Hand (2016–2019). Budulak is the ideologist and co-founder ( (together with Ivan Sannikov) of the Pushka movement. She lives and works in Krasnoyarsk.

  • 13 December, Tuesday

18:00–19:30 Zoom lecture by Anastasia Bogomolova – How to Dig Up Your Theme and Not Bury Yourself in the Process: Artistic Research Methodology

Why should an artist also be a researcher? How not to get lost in the process of researching a complex subject and what guidelines to follow? How to select the most fitting methodology for a particular artistic research project? Why can it be useful for an artist to write texts about their own projects, map their ideas and do interviews? Anastasia Bogomolova’s lecture will expand on the key issues of artistic research – from the concept itself to experimenting with the type of artist’s involvement in the research process.

Anastasia Bogomolova is an artist and researcher. Bogomolova explores the subjects of the flexible nature of memory and oblivion, and complicated legacy, as well as the depiction of traces in the landscape. Anastasia is the winner of Present Continuous 2021, a joint initiative of the V-A-C Foundation and the Museum of Contemporary Art in Antwerp (M HKA); finalist and grant recipient of the Nova Art 8 competition (2021); scholarship holder of the Garage Museum’s Grant Program for Emerging Artists (Moscow, 2017 & 2018); winner of the Credit Suisse & Cosmoscow Prize for Young Artists (Moscow, 2016). Bogomolova has participated in art residencies in Russia, Switzerland, Sweden, and Denmark. She lives and works in Yekaterinburg.

  • 14 December, Wednesday

18:00–19:30 Zoom lecture by Anton Valkovsky – Contemporary Art and Complicated Legacy: Part 1. Mediatization of Cultural Trauma

How do contemporary artists address cultural trauma? What is shared, inclusive, historical memory, and how can contemporary art contribute to the co-sharing of cultural traumatic experience? How does contemporary art contribute to the soothing of cultural trauma and the activation of reconciliation processes?

In his first lecture, Anton Valkovsky will explain what cultural trauma and complicated legacy are, give a brief historical overview of the strategies for addressing cultural trauma in contemporary art (including unsuccessful examples, in his opinion), and talk about the mediatization of cultural trauma.

  • 15 December, Thursday

18:00–19:30 Zoom lecture by Anton Valkovsky –Contemporary Art and Complicated Legacy: Part 2. Collective Memory and Working Through Trauma

The second lecture by Anton Valkovsky will be focused on the approaches and strategies for co-sharing cultural trauma and overcoming the painful asymmetry of memory, including examples of participatory art.

Anton Valkovsky, PhD is an independent curator and manager of social and cultural projects. Valkovsky examines complicated legacies and contemporary art as a tool for cultural diplomacy and soft power. He also explores different public art formats (micro-interventions, participatory art, community art) and socially engaged art as tools for social and urban change. Valkovsky is developing the participatory approach in socio-cultural and museum design. He researches and conceptualises regional artistic processes in the South of Russia and the North Caucasus. In 2018–2019 Valkovsky was a visiting researcher and curator at the ZK/U - Center for Art and Urbanistics (Berlin). Valkovsky lives and works in Vladikavkaz.

  • 16 December, Friday

18:00–19:30 Zoom lecture by Anna Bouali – Introduction to Media Art: Art vs Technology

For centuries, scientific thinking has influenced artistic practices, whether the invention of the camera obscura, oil paint, locative media, or blockchain. Why does art need technology? How does the media become a message? Over the course of the lecture, the listeners will get a critical overview of the practices and methods of working with and interpreting media art.

Anna Bouali is an art historian, lecturer, programme director of the OSI Foundation, and curator of the New Media in Contemporary Art programme at the Moscow School of Contemporary Art. Formerly the curator of the Department of Cinematic and Media Art of the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts and the Pushkin Museum XXI division (Moscow), and producer of MediaArtLab. Bouali lives and works in Moscow.

  • 17 December, Saturday

16:00–18:00 Offline lecture by Olga Zotova – The History of Primorye Art in the Mid- to Late 20th and Early 21st Centuries (hosted at Zarya CCA’s coworking space)

The Khrushchev Thaw and creative exploration in the Primorsky Region and the Russian Far East (Khabarovsk, Magadan, Komsomolsk-on-Amur). The art of the Shikotan Group as an example of Severe Style. The creation of the Far Eastern Institute of Arts in 1962 and art schools in Vladivostok. The interaction between the capital and Vladivostok through artists-teachers – the graduates of the State Academic Institute of Painting Sculpture and Architecture named after I.E. Repin and the Moscow State Academic Art Institute named after V.I. Surikov. The emergence of neo-avant-garde trends in the 1970s. Vladivostok, Calm and other art groups. Grasping beyond the closed port city. The 1990s as the time of freedom. Holding exhibitions at foreign venues (USA, Japan, Korea). The 2000s as a time of creatives.

Olga Zotova is an Associate Professor of Art History and Senior Researcher at the Vladimir K. Arseniev Museum of Far East History, the senior specialist of the State Tretyakov Gallery branch in Vladivostok, the editor-in-chief of the Fine Arts of the Urals, Siberia and the Far East magazine, and a curator. Zotova lives and works in Vladivostok.

  • 18 December, Sunday

The ‘Situational Forms’ project comprises three meetings and guided walking tours – living a shared experience, built around common points of perception of certain places and spaces in the area surrounding Zarya CCA in Vladivostok.

Natasha Korobka is an artist, musician, and situationist. She explores creative self-organised communities in urban spaces and event design, and works with recycled materials, utilised fabrics and found objects. Natasha is the co-founder of the Korobka Centre of Everything self-organised art space (Vladivostok, 2017–2019), and a curator and participant in shows and situationist projects in Moscow, Vladivostok, Khabarovsk and other cities across Russia. Korobka participated in the first project of the GES-2 House of Culture’s Event Laboratory (Moscow) on the premises of the Izmailovo Gallery (Moscow). The owner of the Korobka garage art gallery on the outskirts of Vladivostok. She lives and works in Vladivostok.


If you have any questions, please contact us at: yana.gaponenko@zaryavladivostok.ru

The Vladivostok School of Contemporary Art (VSCA) is a self-organised educational initiative founded in 2015 to bring together emerging artists and curators from Vladivostok. The VSCA members have attended courses curated by Andrey Vasilenko (V-A-C), Valentin Matveenko, PhD (Igra Slov bookstore), curator Natalia Smolyanskaya, philosopher Boris Klyushnikov, artist Ivan Novikov, and others. The shows of the VSCA members have been held at the Artetage Museum, the Vladivostok Oceanarium, a casino and other venues. In 2019–2022, VSCA organised a number of intensive curatorial programmes and summer schools for arts and culture professionals in Siberia and the Russian Far East. In 2019, the School won the Innovation Prize in the Educational Project category.

КОГДА ВЫ ЗАНИМАЕТЕСЬ ИСКУССТВОМ — НЕ ВАЖНО, ХОРОШО ПОЛУЧАЕТСЯ ИЛИ ПЛОХО, ДУША ВАША РАСТЁТ.
 КУРТ ВОННЕГУТ
ЗИМНЯЯ ШКОЛА ХУДОЖНИКА / ИНТЕНСИВ

1218 ДЕКАБРЯ / ОНЛАЙН TIMEPAD / ОФЛАЙН КИНОЗАЛ ЦСИ «ЗАРЯ»

С 12 по 18 декабря 2022 года участников арт-резиденции «Заря» и молодых художников Приморского и Хабаровского края ждет интенсив «Зимняя школа художника» по практике, истории и теории искусства, организованный Владивостокской школой современного искусства (ВШСИ) в «Заре».

Публичная программа Зимней школы включает в себя серию зум-лекций о постколониальном дискурсе в искусстве, особенностях художественного исследования и медиаарте, а также очную лекцию по истории искусства Приморья в кинозале ЦСИ «Заря». Регистрация на лекции — на Timepad. Участие бесплатное.

В профессиональную часть войдут прогулки с Наташей Коробка «Ситуативные формы» — психогеографические исследования района, в котором располагается «Заря» во Владивостоке, и индивидуальные портфолио-ревью, которые проведет куратор Оксана Будулак. Цель портфолио-ревью — помочь молодым художникам определить пути самореализации и дальнейшее направление развития.

РАСПИСАНИЕ ПУБЛИЧНОЙ ПРОГРАММЫ ЗИМНЕЙ ШКОЛЫ (ПО ВЛАДИВОСТОКСКОМУ ВРЕМЕНИ, UTC +10):

  • 12 декабря, понедельник

18:00–20:30 — зум-лекция Оксаны Будулак «Портфолио художника: как писать artist statement и что включать в портфолио» (ссылка на Timepad)

Слушателей ждут практические рекомендации по составлению портфолио и его структуре, а также по тому, как представить свои работы.

Оксана Будулак — куратор, искусствовед, заведующая сектором кураторских практик музейного центра «Площадь Мира» (Красноярск), арт-критик. Автор коммуникационных проектов, арт-резиденций и параллельных программ в рамках Красноярской музейной биеннале, автор и куратор Сибирской лаборатории молодого искусства «Открытие сообщества» (2016) и From Siberia with love (2017), куратор Музейных ночей (2016–2019) и параллельной программы «Недоступная среда» XII Красноярской музейной биеннале «Мир и мiръ» (2017), выставки-исследования и одноименной книги «После Поздеева: 30 лет красноярского современного искусства» (совместно с Александрой Ситниковой), независимых уличных проектов «Репетиция» (2013–2015), «Флаг в руки» (2016–2019). Идеолог и основатель движения «Пушка» (совместно с Иваном Санниковым). Живет и работает в Красноярске.

  • 13 декабря, вторник

18:00–19:30 — зум-лекция Анастасии Богомоловой «Как раскопать свою тему и не закопаться. Методология artist research» (ссылка на Timepad)

Зачем художнику быть исследователем? Как не потеряться в процессе изучения большой темы и какими принципами стоит руководствоваться в работе? Из чего исходить при выборе методов для конкретного художественного исследования? Почему художнику может быть полезно писать тексты о собственных проектах, картировать свои идеи и брать интервью? Лекция Анастасии Богомоловой будет посвящена ключевым вопросам artist research — от проблематики самого понятия до экспериментирования с типом включенности художника в исследовательский процесс.

Анастасия Богомолова — художница, исследовательница. Проекты Богомоловой разрабатывают темы подвижных механизмов памяти и забвения, трудного наследия, а также образы следа в ландшафте. Анастасия — победительница конкурса Present Continuous 2021 (инициатива Фонда V-A-C, Москва, и Музея современного искусства M HKA, Антверпен), финалистка и лауреат гранта конкурса Nova Art 8 (2021), стипендиатка грантовой программы для молодых художников Музея современного искусства «Гараж» (Москва, 2017, 2018), лауреатка премии Credit Suisse & Cosmoscow Prize for Young Artists (Москва, 2016). Участница арт-резиденций в России, Швейцарии, Швеции и Дании. Живет и работает в Екатеринбурге.

  • 14 декабря, среда

18:00–19:30 — зум-лекция Антона Вальковского «Современное искусство и трудное наследие. Часть 1. Медиализация культурной травмы» (ссылка на Timepad)

Как современные художники работают с проблематикой культурной травмы? Что такое общая, инклюзивная, историческая память и как современное искусство может способствовать со-разделению культурного травматического опыта? Как современное искусство содействует охлаждению культурной травмы и активизации процессов примирения?

На первой лекции Антон Вальковский объяснит, что такое культурная травма и трудное наследие, даст краткий исторический обзор стратегий работы современного искусства с культурной травмой (в том числе с неудачными, на его взгляд, примерами) и расскажет о медиализации культурной травмы.

  • 15 декабря, четверг

18:00–19:30 — зум-лекция Антона Вальковского «Современное искусство и трудное наследие. Часть 2. Общая память и проработка травмы» (ссылка на Timepad)

Вторая лекция Антона Вальковского будет посвящена подходам и стратегиям со-разделения культурной травмы и преодоления причиняющей боль асимметрии памяти, в том числе на примерах партиципаторного искусства и искусства сопричастности.

Антон Вальковский — независимый куратор, менеджер социокультурных проектов, кандидат философских наук. Кураторский подход Вальковского включает в себя работу c трудным наследием и современным искусством как инструментом культурной дипломатии и «мягкой силы», а также с различными форматами паблик-арта (микроинтервенциями, искусством соучастия, искусством сообществ) и социально вовлеченного искусства как инструментами социальных и городских изменений. Развивает соучастный подход в социокультурном и музейном проектировании. Занимается исследованием и концептуализацией региональных художественных процессов на Юге России и на Северном Кавказе. В 2018–2019 годах — приглашенный исследователь и куратор Центра искусства и урбанистики (ZK/U, Берлин). Живет и работает во Владикавказе.

  • 16 декабря, пятница

18:00–19:30 — зум-лекция Анны Буали «Введение в медиаарт: искусство vs технологии» (ссылка на Timepad)

На протяжении столетий научное мышление влияло на художественные практики — будь то изобретение камеры обскура, масляной краски, локативных медиа или блокчейна. Зачем нужны технологии искусству? Как медиа становится сообщением? В ходе лекции слушатели получат критический обзор практик и методов работы и восприятия медиаарта.

Анна Буали — искусствовед, преподаватель, программный директор фонда ОСИ, куратор программы «Новые медиа в современном искусстве» Московской школы современного искусства. Ранее — куратор отдела кино- и медиаискусства ГМИИ им. А. С. Пушкина (Москва), продюсер «МедиаАртЛаб». Живет и работает в Москве.

  • 17 декабря, суббота

16:00–18:00 — офлайн-лекция Ольги Зотовой «История приморского искусства второй половины XX — начала XXI века» (в кинозале «Зари», вход свободный)

Оттепель и творческие искания в Приморском крае и на Дальнем Востоке (Хабаровск, Магадан, Комсомольск-на-Амуре). Творчество художников Шикотанской группы как разновидность сурового стиля. Создание Дальневосточного института искусств в 1962 году и возможность высшего художественного образования во Владивостоке. Взаимодействие столицы и Владивостока через художников-преподавателей — выпускников Института живописи, скульптуры и архитектуры им. И. Е. Репина и Московского художественного института им. В. И. Сурикова. Зарождение неоавангардных тенденций в 1970-х. Творческие группы «Владивосток», «Штиль» и др. Выход за рамки закрытого города-порта. 1990-е — время свободы. Организация выставок на зарубежных площадках (США, Япония, Республика Корея). 2000-е как период творческих индивидуальностей.

Ольга Зотова — кандидат искусствоведения, старший научный сотрудник Музея-заповедника истории Дальнего Востока им. В. К. Арсеньева, главный специалист филиала Государственной Третьяковской галереи во Владивостоке, главный редактор журнала «Изобразительное искусство Урала, Сибири и Дальнего Востока», куратор. Живет и работает во Владивостоке.

  • Об авторе прогулок «Ситуативные формы»:

Наташа Коробка — художник, музыкант, ситуационист. Область художественных интересов — творческая самоорганизация в городском пространстве, проектирование событий, работа со вторсырьем, ненужным текстилем и найденными объектами. Соавтор художественной самоорганизации Центр всего «Коробка» (Владивосток, 2017–2019), куратор и участница выставочных и ситуационных проектов в Москве, Владивостоке, Хабаровске и других городах России. Участница первого проекта Лаборатории событий Дома культуры «ГЭС-2» (Москва) на базе галереи «Измайлово» (Москва). Владелица гаражной галереи «Коробка» на окраине Владивостока. Живет и работает во Владивостоке.


Если у вас появились вопросы, пожалуйста, свяжитесь с нами: yana.gaponenko@zaryavladivostok.ru

Владивостокская школа современного искусства (ВШСИ) — самоорганизованная образовательная инициатива, созданная в 2015 году для объединения молодых художников и кураторов Владивостока. Участники ВШСИ были слушателями курсов куратора Андрея Василенко (V-A-C), кандидата философских наук Валентина Матвеенко (книжный магазин «Игра слов»), куратора Натальи Смолянской, философа Бориса Клюшникова, художника Ивана Новикова и др. Выставки художников ВШСИ проходили в квартирах Владивостока, музее «Артэтаж», в океанариуме, казино и на других площадках. В 2019–2022 годах ВШСИ провела ряд кураторских интенсивов и летних школ для работников культуры Сибири и Дальнего Востока. В 2019 году Школа стала лауреатом Всероссийского конкурса в области современного искусства «Инновация» в номинации «Образовательный проект».